Welcome to the new Spiritual Blueprint Blog!

10/28/10 – Milvian Bridge Day

Welcome to the first edition of the Spiritual Blueprint blog! Thanks for joining me on this journey. The Blog is a forum for my ongoing thoughts about the five areas of life that I call the “Five Homes.” I’m sure every author thinks of things after the book is in print and thinks, “I wish I would have said that in the book.” This blog is a place for those thoughts.

The pictures you’re looking at are a couple of photos I’ve taken on my various travels. In the background is a panorama of the city of Rome – Roma Urbs – and it kind of represents for me the chaos of the city. There’s a certain beauty to the chaos, but it’s still chaos. The photo at the top of the blog is the English countryside, the view from Glastonbury Tor. It just looks so peaceful. And that’s the point – finding peace in the midst of chaos. Isn’t that what we’re all after? Our lives are so chaotic, so busy, so full, that it’s often hard to find peace. And it’s not that it’s necessarily a bad thing that life is full and busy, it’s just that sometimes we can’t enjoy it because we feel so scattered. So I wrote Spiritual Blueprint to help people create order out of chaos, in other words to turn routine and rut into rhythm so we can enjoy a full life but also find peace.

To be honest, “Spiritual Blueprint” was not my original title for the book. In fact, when the publisher first suggested it, I hated it as a title for my book. And since we’re in confession mode, I’m still not sure I like it. I think it sounds a little too technical, and I’m afraid it might turn some people away from the book because they might think reading the book is going to be work. But there is a certain theological significance to it. God made the universe by creating order out of chaos (Genesis, chapter 1). And as we know from the gospel of John, it was through the agency of the Word of God (the Logos in Greek) that everything came into being (John 1:1-3). In other words, Jesus Christ, the second person of the divine Trinity, existed as the Logos eternally before creation. And this concept of the Logos was understood as, in a way… the matrix, or the blueprint of creation. Of course he is more than the blueprint, he’s the architect and the builder as well. But the point is that, from the Christian perspective, it’s Christ who gives a structure to life, a spiritual rhythm which leads to peace.

In the spirit of “pray without ceasing,” (I Thessalonians 5:17) this blog will be a forum for my ongoing conversations with God, with myself, and with that great cloud of witnesses that is all the faithful who came before us (Hebrews 12:1). So I’ll be writing about all the varied yet interrelated topics that fill up my own life: spirituality, Scripture, the history of Christianity, Rome, Italian food, music & songwriting, travel & photography. Sounds like a lot of stuff, I know, but I promise to create order out of chaos! I also promise to be candid, confessional, and basically just real.

Jim Papandrea

www.JimPapandrea.com

www.SpiritualBlueprint.org

 

About Jim Papandrea

Jim Papandrea is an author, educator, and singer/songwriter. Visit his website at: www.JimPapandrea.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to the new Spiritual Blueprint Blog!

  1. George Mitry says:

    Great idea about the blog.. I like the design and your rationale behind the contrasting pictures.. Looking forward to coming back here for more food for thought.. God Bless!

    -George

Leave a Reply

