God’s Mistake

I believe in a Creator, and believe that the Creator is benevolent. Since I believe that God is good, when I find a mistake in creation, I can only assume that it’s not some cruel joke God is playing on the human race, but that in fact God made a mistake. In other words, he didn’t do it on purpose, so that means it must have been an accident.

I’m talking, of course, about the disconnect between the laws of gravity, and the placement of taste buds on the human tongue. I’m one of those people who loves food. I happen to be married to an excellent cook (and the Food Network is on a lot at our house), but I’m not really a “foodie,” because I also love a lot of food that isn’t what you would call gourmet. I’m the kind of person who thinks peanut butter is one of humanity’s greatest inventions, and pizza is the ultimate food because it contains all the food groups. But here’s the problem…

In order to abide by the laws of gravity, you have to put the toppings on the top of the pizza. The same with jelly on toast, and peanut butter on bread. (Have you ever noticed that every time you drop your peanut butter bread it lands top down? It doesn’t seem to be bound by the laws of probability, but that’s a gripe for another day.) The point is, you can’t put the toppings on the bottom of the pizza – but wouldn’t you know it – God put the taste buds on the top of our tongues, when they should be on the roof of our mouths. Sometimes I find myself turning food over as I put it in my mouth, so that the toppings will meet the taste buds. It just seems like God should have thought this one though a little better, that’s all I’m saying.

Peace,

Jim Papandrea

Author of Spiritual Blueprint: How We Live, Work, Love, Play and Pray

1 Response to God’s Mistake

God says: 
Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation? Tell me, if you understand. Who marked off its dimensions? Surely you know! Who stretched a measuring line across it? On what were its footings set, or who laid its cornerstone – while the morning stars sang together and all the angels shouted for joy? Who shut up the sea behind doors when it burst forth from the womb, when I made the clouds its garment and wrapped it in thick darkness, when I fixed limits for it and set its doors and bars in place, when I said, ‘This far you may come and no farther; here is where your proud waves halt’? … Will the one who contends with the Almighty correct him? Let him who accuses God answer him! (Job 38-40)

 

Spiritual Blueprint says: 
 
I am unworthy – how can I reply to you? I put my hand over my mouth. I spoke once, but I have no answer – twice, but I will say no more. (Job 40)

About Jim Papandrea

Jim Papandrea is an author, educator, and singer/songwriter. Visit his website at: www.JimPapandrea.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God’s Mistake

  1. Kim B says:

    LOL!
    It’s worth it to know salt & sweet buds work better when we are young (frosted flakes for breakfast?) And sour & bitter work better when we age. (Oj & coffee for the adults) so there is some intelligent design.

    Oh, I am who am, we love you. Don’t smote us.

Leave a Reply

